The International Society of Global Optimization (iSoGO) was proposed at the First World Congress on Global Optimization held in Changsha, Hunan, China, June 1-5, 2009.

President (2009-2015, 2021-…):  Panos M. Pardalos

President (2015-2016): Christodoulos Floudas  (31.08.1959 – 14.08.2016)

President (2017-2021): Yaroslav D. Sergeyev

During the years the following scholars served as Vice-Presidents of the iSoGO:  Shu-Cherng FangDavid Y. Gao (also General Secretary of the Society), Yaroslav D. Sergeyev, Shouyang Wang.

Since 2011, the International Society of Global Optimization awards bi-annually The Constantin Caratheodory Prize to an individual (or a group of people) for fundamental contributions to theory, algorithms, and applications of global optimization. The Prize is awarded for an outstanding work that reflects contributions that have stood the test of time. The criteria include scientific excellence, innovation, significance, depth, and impact. The Prize consists of an award of $2,000, and a certificate.

The first website of the iSoGO has been made by Evan Dekker.