JOGO Prizes

Journal of Global Optimization Best Paper Award was established by Springer in 2011. It consists of $1,000 cash prize and the winners are selected by a committee consisting of several editorial board members.

2017 Award


  • Global optimization of general constrained grey-box models: new method and its application to constrained PDEs for pressure swing. Fani Boukouvala, M. M. Faruque Hasan, Christodoulos A. Floudas
  • An eigenvalue decomposition based branch-and-bound algorithm for nonconvex quadratic programming problems with convex quadratic constraints. Cheng Lu, Zhibin Deng, Qingwei Jin
  • A branch and bound algorithm for nonconvex quadratic optimization with ball and linear constraints. Amir Beck, Dror Pan

Award Committee: Ding-Zhu Du, Panos M. Pardalos, Oleg Prokopyev, Jean-Philippe Richard, Henry Wolkowicz

2016 Award


  • On Slater’s condition and finite convergence of the Douglas–Rachford algorithm for solving convex feasibility problems in Euclidean spaces. Heinz H. Bauschke, Minh N. Dao, Dominikus Noll, Hung M. Phan
  • Non polyhedral convex envelopes for 1-convex functions. Marco Locatelli

Award Committee: Alexander Mitsos, Panos M. Pardalos, Steffen Rebennack, Henry Wolkowicz

2015 Award


  • Efficient random coordinate descent algorithms for large-scale structured nonconvex optimization. Andrei Patrascu, Ion Necoara

Award Committee: Immanuel Bomze, Matthias Ehrgott, Oleg Prokopyev, Nikolaos Sahinidis, Fabio Schoen

2014 Award


  • Rounding on the standard simplex: regular grids for global optimization. Immanuel M. Bomze, Stefan Gollowitzer, E. Alper Yıldırım
  • Globally-biased DISIMPL algorithm for expensive global optimization. Remigijus Paulavičius, Yaroslav D. Sergeyev, Dmitri E. Kvasov, Julius Žilinskas
  • Multivariate McCormick relaxations. A. Tsoukalas, A. Mitsos

Award Committee: Mirjam Duer, Panos M. Pardalos, Simge Kucukyavuz, Anatoly Zhigljavsky

2013 Award


  • GloMIQO: Global mixed-integer quadratic optimizer. Ruth Misener, Christodoulos A. Floudas

Award Committee: Immanuel Bomze, Mirjam Duer, Panos M. Pardalos, Oleg Prokopyev, Mauricio G. C. Resende

2012 Award


  • Reduced RLT representations for nonconvex polynomial programming problems. Hanif D. Sherali, Evrim Dalkiran, Leo Liberti
  • An exact solution method for unconstrained quadratic 0–1 programming: a geometric approach. D. Li, X. L. Sun, C. L. Liu

Award Committee: Kaisa Miettinen, Panos M. Pardalos, and Berc Rustem

2011 Award


  • Generalized McCormick relaxations. Joseph K. Scott, Matthew D. Stuber, Paul I. Barton

Award Committee: Ding-Zhu Du, Christodoulos Floudas, Panos M. Pardalos, Hanif Sherali, and Antanas Zilinskas