iSoGO Prizes

The Constantin Caratheodory Prize of the International Society of Global Optimization is awarded bi-annually to an individual (or a group) for fundamental contributions to theory, algorithms, and applications of global optimization. The Prize named after mathematician Constantin Caratheodory is awarded for outstanding work that reflects contributions that have stood the test of time. The criteria include scientific excellence, innovation, significance, depth, and impact. The winner will receive a certificate with an award of $2,000 and deliver a plenary lecture.

The Constantin Caratheodory Prize was established by the International Society of Global Optimization in 2011, and was first awarded at the Second World Congress on Global Optimization, held in Chania, Greece during July 3-7, 2011.

Selection Committee for the 2021 Constantin Caratheodory Prize:

  • Panos Pardalos, USA (Chair)
  • Oleg Prokopyev, USA
  • Ana Rocha, Portugal
  • Yaroslav Sergeyev, Italy
  • Anatoly Zhigljavsky, UK

Nominations should be sent to the Chair of the Selection Committee. In each nomination letter only one person can be nominated. The deadline for nominations is March, 15, 2021.

2019 Award
Anna Nagurney University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA
Anatoly Zhigljavsky, Cardiff University, UK

2017 Award
Antanas Zilinskas, Vilnius University, Lithuania
Mauricio Resende, Amazon Research, USA

2015 Award
Christodoulos A. Floudas, the University of Texas A&M
Ignacio E. Grossmann, Carnegie Mellon University,
Nikolaos Sahinidis, Carnegie Mellon University,

2013 Award (Sponsored by Anhui University of Science and Technology)
Panos Pardalos,  University of Florida, USA

2011 Award (Sponsored by University of Florida)
Hoang Tuy, Institute of Mathematics of the Vietnamese Academy of Science and Technology,

ISoGO Young Researchers Award (IYRA)

The Young Researcher Prize of the International Society of Global Optimization is granted to researchers demonstrating outstanding research performance. The award aims to inspire early stage researchers (received their PhD degrees within five years) to incorporate theory, algorithms, and applications of global optimization into their PhD thesis and research. The Award is granted biannually at the WCGO where the recipients will present their work.The Award consists of a Certificate and a part of the award will be monetary in the form of a travel and accommodation grant for attending the World Congress of Global Optimization. All nominations received will be considered by, and voted upon, by the ISoGO Prize Committee.

2013 Award (Sponsored by Izmir University of Ecnomics, Turkey )
Dr. Vittorio Latorre, Sapienza University of Rome, in recognition his excellent work on application of the canonical duality theory for solving challenging problems in neural network optimization and affine quasi-variational inequalities (jointly with Simone Sagratella).

ISoGO Student Paper Award (ISPA)

The ISoGO Student Paper Prizes are awarded biannually to the student author(s) of the most outstanding paper(s) submitted to the WCGO. This award is based solely on the merit and content of the students contribution to the submitted paper. The purpose of the Student Paper Prizes is to recognize outstanding scholarship by students in global optimization. Eligibility is restricted to students in good standing who do not yet hold the degree of PhD before the WCGO. Papers entered in the competition must be presented at the WCGO. Each recipient of the ISoGO Student Paper Prize shall receive a certificate and reimbursement of up to $500 toward travel expenses for attending WCGO.

2013 Award (Sponsored by Collaborative Research Network (CRN) grant from Australian Government)
Mr Yi Chen, University of Ballarat, for his paper entitled “Global Solutions to Large-Scale Spherical Constrained Quadratic Minimization via Canonical Dual Approach”.